Dr Paul Vasey

Paul Vasey

Dr Paul Vasey

MBChB, MSc (Clin. Pharm), MD, MRCP (UK), FRACP

Consultant Cancer Physician

Dr Vasey was born in Newcastle, UK and qualified MBChB in Scotland in 1988. He completed general internal medicine training in 1991, and was the Cancer Research UK Clinical Research Fellow and Clinical Lecturer in the Department of Oncology, University of Glasgow, Scotland from 1992-1996. During this time of clinical and laboratory research he obtained MSc in Clinical Pharmacology (1994) in addition to MD (1996) with the thesis entitled ‘InVitro Studies of Cisplatin-resistant Human Ovarian Carcinoma Cells’.

From 1996-2003 Dr Vasey was the Cancer Research UK Senior Lecturer in medical oncology and Honorary Consultant in medical oncology at the prestigious Beatson Oncology Centre in Glasgow, Scotland. In 2003 he was promoted to reader at the University of Glasgow. From 2001-2004 he was the Director of the West of Scotland Clinical Trials Unit (CTU) and in 2002, under Dr Vasey’s leadership, this unit was awarded Cancer Research UK’s highest award, Alpha*.

In June 2004 Dr Vasey moved to Australia as Staff Specialist at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Brisbane, Australia. Dr Vasey became a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (FRACP) in March 2005, and holds appointments with the University of Queensland as Associate Professor, and as an Honorary Associate of the University of Sydney.

Dr Vasey has particular clinical interests in women’s cancers (breast, ovary, uterine, cervix) and genitourinary cancers, having been the chairman of the Scottish Gynaecologic Cancer Trials Group and an executive board member on a number of UK national genitourinary cancer trials national steering groups. He is widely published, and more details can be found on his personal webpage,

Dr Vasey is a visiting medical oncologist at the Wesley Hospital in Brisbane, and also consults weekly at St Andrews Private Hospital in Toowoomba, at St Andrews Private Hospital in Ipswich. He joined Icon Cancer Care in 2006 and is the current chairman of the Icon Cancer Foundation research committee.